Toronto Data Workshop on Reproducibility

A two-day workshop focusing on reproducibility in data-centric analysis. Thursday and Friday 25-26 February 2021. Free and hosted via Zoom. All welcome! Register here.

Supporters

We gratefully acknowledge the support of the Faculty of Information and the Department of Statistical Sciences at the University of Toronto, and CANSSI Ontario; in particular Dean Wendy Duff, Chair Radu Craiu, and Professor Lisa Strug for their support.

Overview

The Faculty of Information and the Department of Statistical Sciences at the University of Toronto are excited to host a two-day conference bringing together academic and industry participants on the critical issue of reproducibility in applied statistics and related areas. The conference is free and will be hosted online on Thursday and Friday 25-26 February 2021. Everyone is welcome, you don’t need to be affiliated with a university, and you can register here.

The conference has three broad areas of focus:

We intend to record the presentations and will add links here after the conference. Again, the conference is free and online via Zoom, everyone is welcome - you don’t need to be affiliated with a university. If you would like to attend, then please sign up here.

Draft schedule

All times are Toronto / US east coast. 9am in Toronto 🇨🇦 is: 3pm in Berlin 🥨; 2pm in London 💂; 11am in Santiago 🇨🇱; 6am in Vancouver 🎿; and 1am in Melbourne 🦘.

Thursday, 25 February, 2021

Time Speaker Focus
9:00-9:10am Rohan Alexander, University of Toronto Welcome
9:10-9:20am Radu Craiu, University of Toronto Opening remarks
9:20-9:30am Wendy Duff, University of Toronto Opening remarks
9:30-10:25am Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel, University of Edinburgh Keynote - Teaching
10:30-10:55am Tyler Girard, University of Western Ontario Teaching
11:00-11:25am Shiro Kuriwaki, Harvard University Teaching
11:30-11:55am Tiffany Timbers, University of British Columbia Teaching
Noon-12:55pm Riana Minocher, Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology Keynote - Evaluating
1:00-1:25pm Break
1:30-1:55pm Tom Barton, Royal Holloway, University of London Evaluating
2:00-2:25pm Wijdan Tariq, University of Toronto Evaluating
2:30-2:55pm Mauricio Vargas, Catholic University of Chile & Nicolas Didier Arizona State University Evaluating
3:00-3:25pm Jake Bowers, University of Illinois & The Policy Lab Practices
3:30-3:55pm Danielle Smalls-Perkins, Google
4:00-4:25pm Garret Christensen, US FDIC Evaluating
4:30-4:55pm Yanbo Tang, University of Toronto Practices
5:00-5:25pm Lauren Kennedy, Monash University
5:30-6:00pm Fiona Fidler, University of Melbourne Evaluating
6:00-6:30pm Lisa Strug, University of Toronto & CANSSI Ontario Closing remarks

Friday, 26 February, 2021

Time Speaker Focus
8:00-8:30am Nick Radcliffe, Global Open Finance Centre of Excellence & University of Edinburgh Practices
8:30-9:00am Julia Schulte-Cloos, LMU Munich Practices
9:00-9:25am Simeon Carstens, Tweag/IO Practices
9:30-9:55am Heidi Seibold, Helmholtz AI Cooperation Unit Practices
10:00-10:55am Eva Vivalt, University of Toronto Keynote - Practices
11:00-11:25am Andrés Cruz, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile Practices
11:30-11:55am Emily Riederer, Capital One Practices
Noon-12:25pm Florencia D’Andrea, National Institute of Agricultural Technology
12:30-12:55pm John Blischak, Freelance scientific software developer Practices
1:00-1:25pm Tania Allard, Quansight labs
1:30-1:55pm Shemra Rizzo, Genentech Practices
2:00-2:25pm Amber Simpson, Queens University Practices
2:30-2:55pm John McLevey, University of Waterloo
3:00-3:25pm Sharla Gelfand, Freelance R Developer Practices
3:30-3:55pm Ryan Briggs, University of Guelph Practices
4:00-4:25pm Monica Alexander, University of Toronto Practices
4:30-4:55pm Annie Collins, University of Toronto Practices
5:00-5:25pm Nancy Reid, University of Toronto
5:30-6:00pm Rohan Alexander, University of Toronto Closing remarks

Presenter biographies and abstracts

Keynotes:

Invited presentations: